The Autistic Christian

Let me say from the start that I have a strong faith and although I’m willing to discuss it, I have not started this thread to try and evangelise anyone. Simply I’d like to discuss with other autistic Christians how they cope with church, other Christians and trying to resolve their head around everything.

Parents
  • There are two verses in the bible that always make me laugh when I think about what it means to be a Christian on the spectrum. They are:

John 17:16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of it. (Because of the whole 'other planet' feeling, this one could have been written for Aspies)!

1 Corinthians 9:22 I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some. (This reminds me of how we mirror other people to fit in).

Of course they are both verses out of context but they still make me smile.

I am a theology student and for one of my essays I would really like to explore how churches could better support us. I wonder if anybody on here might be interested in answering some questions, and if there might be a way I could distribute them that wouldn't break the community rules? It wouldn't be until the New Year so plenty of time to figure it out :)

• I’ve been to several churches, mostly quakers and the first church of Christ scientist. Both are autistic friendly I would say. I’d be happy to answer questions. 

• The quaker  church may be autistic friendly but the spiritual foundations are now compromised. From my point of view it is theologically impossible to accept same sex marriage. This is based on genesis. This church in its their identity has accepted world principles and standards in its desire to accept and tolerate. The body of Christ should be there to set a standard that the world aspires to not the other way around.