New here, looking for a diagnosis!

Hi all

This is my first time here so apologies if I do this wrong.

I'm mid 40s and have always suffered from anxiety/depression and am now seeing similarities between symptoms of autism and myself. Is the only way of getting a diagnosis through your GP? I'm quite paranoid and I think my GP thinks I'm a hypochondriac so I hate the thought of having to go to her, I'm sure she'll just think I'm attention seeking or making it up.

• I personally went to my doctor and she was really helpful in the referral process. But any other puschologist/psychiatrist is also able to refer you or send you in the right direction. Good luck with the diagnosis hopefully you won't have to wait long. 

• Thank you, that's good to know.

• I was diagnosed in my early forties - I am now 56. The process I adopted was to see my GP in 2002, explaining to him that I was still experiencing the difficulties from my late teens and early twenties (in the early 1980's) that had resulted in my being referred back then to a clinical psychologist. I suspected Aspergers, but did not wish to discuss this suspicion with my GP. He willingly referred me to a clinical psychologist who, at the first appointment, quickly spotted that I was almost certainly on the autistic spectrum, solely on the answer I gave to a specific question, and also how I answered it. I cannot remember now, 13 years later, what the question was. She referred me onwards to the adult autism team for a formal diagnosis., which took a while, but I got there in the end. I am now, having dealt with my diagnosis largely by overwork to the extent  that I became unwell, taking ownership of my autism, increasing my own self awareness and also the awareness of those around me.

• Hi @NAS36160