Lorry drivers and getting diagnosed.

Hi everyone, 

im new here. I'll cut a long story short, basically for years my mum and I have both thought I've been Autistic, I really struggle with most things you'd read relating to it (I don't need to go through them, I'm sure you all get what I mean) 

My issue that I'm a lorry driver, I'm scared they'll try and revoke my licence. I think it makes me pay more attention to the little details but I'm not sure if the DVLA will see it that way. Is anyone here a lorry driver? after all these years of struggling it'd be so nice to have an idea what makes me struggle with making new friends, saying rude things struggling to understand people And worst of all, social situations. My anxiety goes through the roof to meet new people especially when it's more than one :(. 

I could pay privately too but I guess they'd have to tel my Dr still. I also used to get a lot of help for depression, I could speak to my previous pscyistrist maybe? 

Can anyone help me With any info? 

Thanks in advance. 

Parents
  • Hi Kimmy,

I'm not a lorry driver - but I've held my driving licence since 1979 and have never had either an accident or any points.  I've also driven mini-buses regularly, up to the limits we had on pre-1997 licences.

Interestingly, I had mini-bus training today for my new job.  I mentioned to the instructor that I'd been diagnosed (nearly 3 years ago) with an autistic spectrum condition, but that it had never affected my driving.  He didn't seem at all bothered about it.  Four of us had a road test, and I was the only one who didn't need to repeat any moves.

As others have said, if anything I think it's made me a more careful driver.  I like to drive in peace - no music, talking, and definitely no phones - and give it my full concentration.  Maybe that says something. 

In spite of the accidents you mentioned, I'll bet you're much more careful than most - and you've probably got a better record.