Can an suspected Aspergers Husband seem very non ASD when things are going well?

Hi,

New to all this.  I am in the middle of a separation.  My youngest has been assessed and has been recommended to go for further assessment/diagnosis for ASD.  Given what I have learned especially recently I really believe my soon to be ex has Aspergers.  I am no expert but when I look at the lists and characteristics and even when I had the private assessment it all fell into place.

My questions is can an Aspergers person appear quite high functioning on daily basis, socially, warm, gentle and caring even though I see his other social side.  I know he doesn't have any real friends and he is a bit anxious when he has to go out with our friends or eg make a complaint etc.