Autism and clothing

Hello all,

I'm a fashion student studying in Wales and I hoped to make clothing that would benefit school aged children with autism. I wanted to know what are the things you look for in particular with clothes? Are there sensory toys that help? Are there particular colours that are favoured? I also wanted to know the things to avoid with clothing. I'm making these clothes with the goal of that they'll be easy to put on/off, won't over stimulate and hoped to make them so they're calming to wear/help with sensory issues.

Many thanks,

Anna

Parents
  • I would say it could be as much about the construction as anything else, materials, seams and stitches have bothered me to some extent. I'm not a fan of manmade fibres apart from some UnderArmor stuff and some breathable fabrics, it just feels wrong, but I can't be more specific than that. I often feel seams and stitching if they aren't done right, I wear Levi's jeans and can wear Hugo Boss, but for most other brands I can feel the seams down the inside and outside of the leg rubbing against my skin. I find twin needle stitching much better, also taped seams on jackets.

• Similar thoughts as said, seams are a nitemare , I wear most of my socks inside out as the seam along the toes is so uncomfortable and rubs and irritates my toes,

I cannot understand that something made for humans has a big seam and for looks alone must be inside,

I often say” well if you buy a thick pair of leather driving gloves then the seams are outside running along the fingers, you wouldn’t have those seams inside would You?

All labels I remove as I feel the edges and some are so sharp on the corners, 

I don’t  Like nylon type fabrics as I feel the stickiness or clingy sensation in my skin, as well as a feeling of electric or static,