Selective school admissions rejection

Hi all, 

I am new to this so would just like to say hello. This may be a long one sorry.

I am after some advice really in regards to my son. He is 13 and was diagnosed with High Functioning Autism when he was six and has had some form of SEND support within school since. He is not statemented. He's not had an easy time of it at school and it's like a never-ending battle but that's a different story.

Background- He has attended a local drama school since he was 10 and it's been amazing for his social skills and confidence. He really has an aptitude for acting and has landed a few roles and had some fantastic experiences. Performed in Paris and on an arena tour. He's won lots of awards at this school and in 2 years out of 3 on the top award. I'm so sorry if this comes across as bragging, I genuinely am not, I just want to give the total picture. 

We applied to a selective school that specializes in the performing arts and digital media and offers an acting pathway alongside normal academic criteria. We are in the outer catchment area for this school so they only admit 10% of the intake from this catchment area which equates to 15 pupils. We are, however, literally just a mile from the 'inner catchment area' where they admit 90% of the intake. 

During the application process, I fully disclosed my son's autism and additional needs. I was advised that this would be taken into consideration at the aptitude days. We then received confirmation of him attending an aptitude workshop for the day and this would be where the decision to accept pupils was made.  There was nothing to prepare or research it. The activities and assessments would be made on that day only.