How to pursue diagnosis without making my son feel that there is something wrong with him

Hi everyone! 

Im a newbie here

After much deliberation, I have decided it would be best to seek a formal diagnosis for my 4 year old aspie son.

He is such a lovely, kind, clever little boy that struggles to interact with others, which I fear may appear to others as rude or ignorant.

I do worry that the process may make him feel that there is something wrong him though, and have no idea how to explain it to him.

does anyone have any advice for me please? It would be greatly appreciated 

• Thank you so much for the info. I really do appreciate anyone taking the time to help me

Very glad to have been of some assistance. Obviously, if we can help, we will, so if you have a further questions, or just need to communicate ~ hesitate not, as you are very welcome.

Have a good one, and many many more ~ all the best.

• Thank you so much for the info. I really do appreciate anyone taking the time to help me

• does anyone have any advice for me please? It would be greatly appreciated 

Hi there , greetings and welcome to the community ~ you might perhaps find the following NAS link to their diagnosis page useful:

http://www.autism.org.uk/about/diagnosis.aspx 

Also, if you telephone the NAS (National Autistic Society) helpline: 0808 800 4104 and select Option 4, and ask for a Preadolescent Asperger's Information Pack, and leave your name and address ~ it should arrive in a few weeks or so, and it will help you get going on the diagnosis process.

You can do Option 4 day or night, but otherwise in terms of speaking to an NAS Advisor, the helpline's opening-closing times are Monday to Thursday 10am to 4pm, and Friday 9am to 3pm. The helpline is invariably busy, so just keep ringing, and you should be through in a few goes.

I must state that I find 's advice very agreeable indeed, it is very well put.