Cliques and gossip

I know this is a subject that's come up before several times.  But I've had some frustrating experiences at work recently with this type of thing, and just felt like blowing off a bit of steam Triumph

I've never, in all of my long working life, 'fitted in' with colleagues - wherever I've worked.  Probably the worst places were offices - especially when I worked in the civil service and the NHS.  They were the kinds of places where, whenever you got up from your desk and went to make a cup of tea or something, you could sense people talking about you. I once suffered appalling bullying in an office, and was eventually led to complain - first to the bully, then to management.  The result?  They closed ranks around the bully, because she was in their clique, and I was effectively constructively dismissed. My dear old dad used to say 'F*** 'em, son.  If they're talking about you, they're not talking about some other poor sod.'  Which, I suppose, is true.  But it still always leaves me feeling uncomfortable.  Not understanding the usual signals and gestures that are exchanged between people, too, has always made me feel 'outside' - like they're in on a secret that I'm not allowed to share.

Even working in care, as I have done now for thirteen years, hasn't changed things.  In my first care job, there was a coterie of staff who gravitated around the deputy manager, who was a forceful and aggressive person and also a ritual abuser.  Anyone coming into the job afresh was 'tested' to see whether they were in or out with him - which usually meant being complicit in his behaviour, and emulating it. Those who 'failed' the test were invariably those who saw through him and left quite quickly afterwards.  I stayed on, but largely because I had an autonomous role.  In the end, though, I blew the whistle on him to CQC.  That was when everyone stopped talking to me.  So I left, too.