New to Forum - Advice needed please - Work for Adults with ASD

My name is Michelle and I am new to this forum, so first of all Hello.  I would like to run an idea I have by you and would welcome any advice from autism experts and professionals to perceived problems, issues.

I am not an expert on ASD, but with my limited knowledge and first hand experience, I understand and have seen the difficulties faced by those in the workplace with ASD.

What I would like to do is start up a recruitment company which will offer work to individuals with ASD. It would be a way for the industry to be able to tap into and utilise talent and for individuals with ASD to possibly take up skilled work that they would normally be unable to.   Companies could post freelance work (It would not be a cheap labour option, market rates would apply).  With freelance the focus would be more on being home based rather than office based.   Additional support would be in place from a conventional recruitment site to cater for the needs of Clients.

Can anyone see any major issues with this.  Maybe it would not be legally allowable to only offer jobs to individuals with ASD?  Would it be easy for someone on benefits to put them on hold, take up temporary work, then reinstate them easily?  

I would welcome any comments, advice J

Parents
  • The first thing that struck me was that you are writing about offering freelance work which will probably involve regular changes rather than routines and the need for routines is common amongst people on the spectrum. I once tried temping and hated it; I really had a struggle dealing with regular changes.

I certainly like the idea of home working (because, for example, I can control, to a degree, my environment) but that need not be restricted to freelance work.