has anyone ever gone private?

hello, i am new to this...

my son had his ados assessment last week and did not get a diagnosis which i disagree with as does his nursery teacher. 

i have been so upset as he has so many symptoms and the assessor said his gut feeling was that he was asd but my son smiled, showed gestures. 

i am going to get a second opinion but also the option of going private. 

has anyone gone private and still get the care as recieved on nhs? 

thank you in advance 

Parents
  • Hi there, yes we have gone private to get a diagnosis for our lb who is nearly 5, as we wanted him to go to a specific school who wouldn't take him without a diagnosis. The wait for camhs was too long and when I first spoke to them they said it would be a lengthy process! It was the best decision we made as I have been to camhs today as I kept the app, to see if with having the diagnosis already they had anything else to offer and to be honest they couldn't get me out quick enough! If you can go private do it, you shouldn't have to but It was the best thing for us! 

• thank you so much for replying. i am speaking with someone from private tomorrow as im worried nhs might not take a private diagnosis seriously? 

im thinking to also have a second opinion first but then its the waiting game again and to be honest i feel exhausted