Worried about my future career progression? What can reduce my anxieties?

Ok so I've been working for the same place for over 5 years now. I feel like I've learnt a lot of different tasks but these are all the tasks which I have picked up because it is always done in the same way. There is a step by step way of doing it overall. I have written my own step by step notes, screenshots to help me just in case I do forget how to do a task if I haven't done it for a while. I really struggle with tasks which are not done in the same way, grey area tasks and also tasks where you have to read between the lines. I get on the job training but I can never pick up on how to do these tasks no mater how many times it has been explained to me by my line manager. All the tasks he taught me if there is no grey areas, reading between the lines, the task done in exactly the same way, I noticed I understand and pick these up on how to do these tasks very quickly as long as it's explained to me 100% precise and clear as possible with step by step notes written by myself while being taught.

A new person will be starting soon and he is a similar age to me. I am meant to train him in my tasks as well and my line manager said he'll train me and the new person to progress further. He is just a bit below me because he is new starting. I will still be doing roughly the same tasks I have always been doing for 5 years but he'll be first call to do one of the tasks which I won't have to do and I'll have extra time to do my own assisting tasks.