Would asking my line manager to do a email to everyone in the workplace to say I have aspergers be a good idea? (Also, asking for mentor a good idea?)

I've been working there for over 5 years now, even though I know that some people know that I have aspergers, I don't know who does or who doesn't really. And the problem is that I never have been able to start a conversation with anyone myself from when I started working there until now 5 years! I've been able to reply to others when they ask me something but it mainly just involves work related stuff and not just general chatting? Also when people in the workplace ask me to do something, I always need slightly a longer time than a NT to process the information they said and to understand what they mean. I worry that if they don't realise I have aspergers then they may wonder why and not understand how to actually speak to me to pass the instructions on about what they want me to do?

Also, noone talks to me that much and I want them to understand why and not for them to just think that I just don't want to speak to them? Because I always appear socially awkward, they may just not know why etc. 

Also one thing I overheard my line manager (this was a while ago) say to one of the secretaries was that I hate everyone etc because I didn't go to the Christmas meal. I was very annoyed when he said that though he has no idea how annoying this could be especially because he should of known why I didn't go to the meal not because I hate everyone, I didn't mention anything about it though but he has been much of a better line manager now probably because he tried to understand my condition a lot more now.

But yeah overall I just want all people at work to know I have aspergers and that is what explains why I behave the way I do at work. I sometimes can be uncomfortable with telling people that I have aspergers but if there is a good reason to I don't mind at all.