Rights at work

Hello, I have just been diagnosed with Aspergers  (I do personally prefer this term).. long story about how I finally arrived here, but for now I need to ask; I am a registered nurse..should I tell the NMC?  Would this help me or would they call my practice into question/would there be negative consequences for me? Any advice would be much appreciated.

• Hi I'm also an RGN have been for 14 years, diagnosed with AS 2 years ago. I did disclose to a senior nurse and 2 sisters shortly after diagnosis. As far as the NMC goes if your AS isn't directly affecting your ability to do your job I wouldn't tell them, its not dishonest, every time we revalidate we declare that we are of a sound state of mind and as far as I'm concerned AS doesn't change this. If its work adjustments you need occupational health would probably be your best bet and your line manager/ senior nurse. The only problem I find is the social side of things with collegues and sometimes I take myself off somewher for a couple of minute s of quiet. Hope this helps. BTW I'm not having the best time at work at the moment but this is aside of the AS.

• I don't think anyone is saying that, not from my perspective on the posts here anyway. I am pleased with my diagnosis, like you it has offered me a whole new perspective on myself, my life, the challenges I face, everything! It does fell like a weight off my shoulders too, to know that I finally make sense and I'm not 'broken' or 'weird' or whatever else I've felt on bad days over the years. I definitely see having my diagnosis as a VERY positive thing - for me. It's just that I also recognise the unfortunate fact that it isn't necessarily going to be seen as such a positive thing for everybody else, because they don't know (can't possibly know) the difficulties 'masking' and such have caused me over the years.